Will never go back. Went to the new location where the Old Carmens was for lunch this past Saturday, sat outside on the deck. They dont have a lunch menu, but when we tried to order Pizza, we were told the "Brick Oven was broken" ??. I dont think so, this is a scheme so that once you sit you'll order a more expensive profitable dish (Have already confirmed with others they were told the same on different days) Had a veal dish, ehh. Bill came, went to pay with CC, the waiter said, " Oh sorry, CC machine is broken".... Thanks waiter, this info would have been helpful earlier. Get it together Puglias, Island is small and people talk, word has already spread about your BS. Much better places on the island to go to and not have to deal with nonsense.
Good. I was there twice, first experience wason a Friday night, good food, nice waitstaff, the only somewhat negative encounter was the entertainment. The singer was very loud for dinner hour. The second time was earlier in the evening and food again was very good. Will go again.
It was excellent. I am not sure why it got some bad reviews, I brought my daughter and the family here for her 18th birthday. The workers were friendly, service was great and the food was excellent. I would definately go back. Highly recommended
A New Favorite!.
My husband and I have eaten at Puglia of Hester St four times in the last six weeks and each experience was an extremely nice one. Friendly and efficient service, delicious and authentic italian food. We try to keep our visits to the weekdays before the dinner rush.
Don't listen to those cruel "one star naysayers". In my opinion, their reviews are off-base as evidenced by the packed house at Puglia, especially on the weekends. Try for yourself and you be the judge. This place deserves a chance.
Bad experience, I wouldn't go back. This was the worst dinning experience I've ever had. The service was terrible and the food was mediocre at best. My friends and I waited over an hour between appetizers and the main course. When my food finally came, it was cold. Not once did the waitress ask us if we needed anything. And if you ordered a drink the chance of the waitress forgetting was 50%. I wouldn't go back and I wouldn't recommend anyone to eat their
Avoid this place.
Behind a gas station, next to a car wash overlooking an empty parking lot; traffic on your left and right -- got the idea for inviting dinner?
There used to be a storage for sheet metal and hardware at this location and it was fine for that. But a restaurant...? Whose crazy idea was that/
Prices are outrageous the food is between bad and mediocre. There are plenty of good restaurants in S.I. , especially Italian ones. This one is trying to ride on the fame of the Old Puglia on Hester Street when it was good in the 80's.
DON'T BOTHER FOR DINNER.
THE BEST PLACE TO HAVE A PARTY!!!.
I've been a customer of Puglia of Hester Street since they opened and I always had a great experience, that is why I decided to have my daughter's christening on Sunday, Sept.12 2010. It was the best decision I made! Not only the party was great, but I also received top-notch service for the entire length of my party. My family and friends called me the next day, raving how great the food and service was, and wanted to know when my next party will be at Puglia.
I highly recommend Puglia of Hester Street for your next party!!!!
had to try!.
I heard some good , some bad and had to try for myself. I thought the food was good, portions were generous, and definetely priced more than fair. Based on some of these reviews ,I would not have tried puglia.
I am glad I did, and will go again
Not so good. We have frequented this place a few times and each time it's been just ok. (we were hoping it'd get better with each visit) I know when we first went, they just opened and that was a diaster-people waiting forvever for their food, etc. But now it's been open a few months you would think it'd improve. The pizza we had a few weeks ago was not like the one we had the first time we ate there, WAY too much garlic (it was the white pizza basically). WAY WAY WAY too much. There is no consistency in their cooking. And they use way too much salt in a lot of their dishes. But that's all neither here nor there, it's the last time we went there that cracked me up. Here we are seated in the middle of the restaurant enjoying our meal. I was very excited because they had zucchini flowers as a special app and just coming back from our honeymoon in Italy where we ate them like crazy, we were excited to eat them again. So we get the app.....2 on a plate for $17.00 and just covered in a sauce. (too much salt, too much garlic, too much sauce, see a pattern??) As we get our meals, one of the "hostesses" sat a younger couple next to us. Apparently she knew them because she sat to talk with them for a bit. Next thing we know, (as the waiter then pointed out to us later on that night) an owner came over to visit with them. They kept thanking him for his hospitality and told him he was too much (let's see, a bottle of wine to start, then not 2 but 4-5 zucchini flowers on their order, an antipasto platter, clams, and i'm forgetting another app, I'm sure of it) that were all "compliments of the owner". I know that you treat your friends well but don't seat them in the middle of the restaurant or next to a paying customer that has to witness-at least- a $200+ meal being comp'd or see that even though i'm a PAYING customer, I only got 2 zucchini flowers on our plate and they got 2x that much for FREE. Just tasteless all around. Seat your friends in the back corner area or somewhere that's not so in the thick of things. Especially when 90% of their meal is comp'd and you're feeding them things that A-aren't on the menu (and looked good!) and B-doubling their food amounts.
You will be disappointed!.
The resturant appears to be a great place but my overall experience was not good. My shrimp appetizer was overcooked and the shrimp were very small. We ordered a porterhouse steak for two. Besides it coming out with pepper when we asked the waiter not to put pepper on it, the steak itself was very tough. I understand that sometimes a steak can be tough but I approached the waiter and this is what I told him.
" This steak was very tough and for a steak for two that costs $ 72.00 it shouldn't be tough. " We were never confronted by the owner or manager. All I wanted is for someone to come over and say sorry, or can I offer you a drink or any type of good business response. Because of their lack of interest in pleasing their customers, I would never go there again and would never recommend this place to anyone. You would be better off going to Burger King down the street.
Sign in with Facebook Sign in with Facebook to see what your friends are up to!
Do you have a review of Puglia Of Hester Street Inc on your blog? If you include the Citysearch image link (shown below) in your post, we'll automatically link to your review from the business profile page. Here's how our Linkback system works:
The Linkback system is free and automatic. It's really that easy.
To link to our business profile page, copy the html below to your web page.